Workshop Organizers


Dr. Chedlia Ben Naila (S’08–M'20) received Ph.D. in telecommunications engineering from Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan, in 2012. She is currently an Assistant Professor at Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan. Previously, she worked as a Junior Lecturer at Sup'com, Tunisia and Adjunct Lecturer at Waseda University, Japan. Her current research interests include optical wireless communications, free-space optics systems, and underwater communications. Dr. Ben Naila is a member of IEEE and OPTICA. She was recipient of the 2011 Waseda University Ono Azusa memorial academic award medal, 26th Telecom System Technology award from the Japanese Telecommunication Advancement Foundation (TAF) of Japan (2011) and IEEE ITU-T Kaleidoscope Best Paper award (2011). Since 2020, she has been serving as a TPC member of Globecom and ICC.

Dr. Takaya Yamazato is a professor at the Institute of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Nagoya University, Japan. He received a Ph.D. from the Department of Electrical Engineering, Keio University, Yokohama, Japan, in 1993. From 1993 to 1998, he was an Assistant Professor at the Department of Information Electronics, Nagoya University, Japan. From 1997 to 1998, he was a visiting researcher at the Research Group for RF Communications, University of Kaiserslautern, German. In 1998, he gave a half-day tutorial entitled “Introduction to CDMA ALOHA” at Globecom held in Sydney, Australia. Since then, he has been serving as a TPC member of Globecom and ICC. In 2006, he received the IEEE Communication Society’s Best Tutorial Paper Award. He served as the co-chair of the Wireless Communication Symposia of ICC 2009 and was the co-chair of Selected Areas in Communication Symposia of ICC 2011. From 2008 to 2010, he served as the chair of the Satellite and Space Communication Technical Committee. In 2011, he gave a half-day tutorial entitled “Visible Light Communication” at ICC 2011 held in Kyoto, Japan.

Dr. Anna Maria Vegni is an Associate Professor in Telecommunications at the Department of Industrial, Electronic and Mechanical Engineering at Roma Tre University (Rome, Italy), since March 2023. She received the Ph.D. degree in Biomedical Engineering, Electromagnetics and Telecommunications from the Department of Applied Electronics, Roma Tre University, in March 2010. She received the 1st and 2nd level Laurea Degree cum laude in Electronics Engineering at Roma Tre University, in July 2004, and 2006, respectively. In 2009, she was a visiting researcher in the Multimedia Communication Laboratory, directed by Prof. Thomas D.C. Little, at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Boston University, Boston, MA. Her research activity focuses on vehicular networking, optical wireless communications, and visible light positioning. She a member of ACM and an IEEE Senior Member. In June 2021, she got the Italian Habilitation (Abilitazione Scientifica Nazionale) for Full Professorship in Telecommunication Engineering. She is involved in the organization of several IEEE and ACM international conferences and is a member of the editorial board of IEEE TCOM, IEEE ComMag, Ad Hoc Networks, Journal of Networks and Computer Applications Elsevier journals, WINET Springer, IEEE JCN, ITU J-FET and ETT Wiley journal.

Dr. Hanaa Abumarshoud is a Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in the James Watt School of Engineering, the University of Glasgow, Glasgow, UK. Prior to that, she was a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the LiFi Research and Development Centre at the University of Strathclyde (2020-2022) and the University of Edinburgh (2017-2020). She was awarded her MSc and PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering in 2013 and 2017 from Khalifa University, UAE. Her main expertise is the application of information theory and signal processing techniques in visible light communications and LiFi systems, with particular focus on intelligent communications, resource allocation, multi-user access, and physical layer security. Dr Abumarshoud is an associate editor for IEEE Communications letters and a Senior Member of IEEE. She was recipient of IEEE TAOS Best Paper Award (2022).

List of TPC Members (tentative)

  • Shintaro Arai, Okayama University of Science, Japan
  • Mauro Biagi, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • Abdelmoula Bekkali, Toyo Cooperation, JAPAN
  • Tarik Borogovac, Boston University, USA
  • Maite Brandt-Pearce, Univ. of Virginia, USA
  • Wataru Chujo, Meijo University, Japan
  • Neda Cvijetic, NEC Laboratories America, Inc., USA
  • Hany Elgala, Boston University, USA
  • Fary Ghassemlooy, Northumbia University, UK
  • Roger Green, University of Warwick, UK
  • Harald Haas, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Hiromasa Habuchi, Ibaraki University, Japan
  • Shinichiro Haruyama, Keio University, Japan
  • Tiffany Jing Li, Lehigh University, USA
  • Thomas Kamalakis, Univ. of Athens, Greece
  • Koji Kamakura, Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Mohsen Kavehrad, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Masayuki Kinoshita, Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Valencia Joyner Koomson, Tufts University, USA
  • Lutz Lampe, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Klaus-Dieter Langer, Heinrich Hertz Institute, Fraunhofer, Germany
  • Erich Leitgeb, Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Xin Lin, Nakagawa Laboratories Inc, Japan
  • Thomas Little, Boston University, USA
  • Francisco Lopez-Hernandez, Universidad Politecnica, Madrid, Spain
  • Valeria Loscrì, INRIA, France
  • Stefan Mangold, Disney Research, USA
  • Brian Sadler, Army Research Laboratory, USA
  • Himal Suraweera, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
  • Murat Uysal, Ozyegin University, Turkey
  • Joachim. W. Walewski, Siemens, Germany
  • Zhengyuan Xu, Tsinghua University, China
  • Tomohiko Yendo, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan